Your free name change organiser
Quick answer
Updated · Editorial policy
Your next steps
0 of 14 records checked off
England · I am still choosing my evidence
Check an item off when you have confirmed the record is updated. These checkboxes do not submit a request or notify an organisation.
Saving is optional and only happens when you press Save. It stores your chosen UK nation, route, organisations and ticked items in this browser, without your name or contact details. Avoid saving on a shared device. We do not send these choices to our server. Privacy information.
Still choosing your document? Check which document you need. A marriage or civil-partnership certificate may be enough; this checklist does not mean you need to buy a deed poll.
What should I do first?
- Check each organisation’s evidence requirements and prepare the document linking your names. Keep a signed original available.
- Report benefit changes promptly and coordinate bank details with each provider; do not wait for a passport or driving licence.
- Ask an employer, bank or another accepted record-holder for evidence showing your new name in use before an application that requires it.
- Update your driving licence, passport, V5C and remaining accounts through their separate official processes. There is no universal DVLA-first order.
Money and work
Universal Credit and other benefits
- How to update
- Your Universal Credit account; the relevant office for each other benefit.
- Evidence to check
- Report your name change promptly and supply the evidence your benefit provider requests.
- Before you apply
- Do not wait for your passport or licence. Coordinate bank details with the provider. HMRC, DWP, your council, Social Security Scotland and Northern Ireland services are separate routes.
- Costs
- No document purchase is required simply to report a change.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
Employer and payroll
- How to update
- Your employer’s HR or payroll team through its usual secure process.
- Evidence to check
- Ask which evidence it needs; request a dated letter or payslip in your new name once its records are updated.
- Before you apply
- Payroll reports contain your name. Updating your employer does not replace telling HMRC yourself. An employer letter can help with DVLA evidence requirements.
- Costs
- Ask HR about its process; no paid deed-poll service is required by this checklist.
- HMRC: employee information in payroll reports
- GOV.UK: tell HMRC your name has changed
- GOV.UK: DVLA identity and name-change evidence
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
HSBC UK
- How to update
- Visit a branch.
- Evidence to check
- Bring proof of the name change and evidence of your previous or other name. HSBC lists a witnessed deed poll or statutory declaration for other name changes.
- Before you apply
- Marriage and civil partnership have certificate routes. Use HSBC UK’s own list for your circumstances; the policy is not an acceptance guarantee from us.
- Costs
- See HSBC for any separate card or account service charges.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
NatWest UK
- How to update
- App with biometric security, telephone banking or branch, following NatWest’s instructions.
- Evidence to check
- NatWest lists registered or non-registered deed polls and statutory declarations for other name changes. Branch visits also need your debit card and photo ID.
- Before you apply
- The app process requires supporting evidence through the route NatWest gives you. Use the UK policy; NatWest International has different instructions. Credit-card-only customers should use the number on their card.
- Costs
- Check any separate product charges with NatWest.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
Lloyds Bank
- How to update
- Check app eligibility, or complete Lloyds’ change-name form for a branch or postal request.
- Evidence to check
- Lloyds lists an unenrolled deed poll with a valid driving licence or UK/EU passport in the new name. Alternatives include an enrolled deed or statutory declaration; divorce has a separate evidence combination.
- Before you apply
- Its app route is not yet available on Android. Check current eligibility and required ID. Some insurance policies need separate contact.
- Costs
- Alternative evidence or formal witnessing may have a separate cost.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
Monzo UK
- How to update
- In the app, tap Help, search ‘Changing your name’ and use Get in touch to chat with Monzo.
- Evidence to check
- Monzo lists a passport or driving licence showing the new name, a marriage certificate or a deed poll as examples for a legal-name change.
- Before you apply
- This is the UK account-name process. A preferred-name-only change has separate instructions and does not require ID. The legal-name page does not distinguish enrolled and unenrolled deeds; confirm what Monzo needs for your circumstances.
- Costs
- The name-change page does not specify a fee; ask Monzo about any charges for your request.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
Starling Bank
- How to update
- Contact customer service through Help in the Starling app, then Talk to Starling; follow its message or live-chat instructions to upload evidence.
- Evidence to check
- Starling’s personal-account article lists a deed poll, marriage certificate or divorce certificate for a name change.
- Before you apply
- Name changes require customer service; editing an address or email in Settings is a different task. The article does not distinguish enrolled and unenrolled deeds or give a guaranteed processing time. Confirm the evidence for your circumstances in the app.
- Costs
- The name-change article does not specify a fee; ask Starling about any charges for your request.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
Credit reference agencies (Experian, Equifax and TransUnion)
- How to update
- Update your lenders and check all three credit reports.
- Evidence to check
- Correct your name through each agency’s process; dispute missing or inaccurate account information.
- Before you apply
- Lender updates can take four to eight weeks.
- Costs
- Experian offers a free report.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Money and work
HMRC tax and National Insurance records
- How to update
- Start with GOV.UK’s name-change service and sign in; create sign-in details there if needed.
- Evidence to check
- Follow the identity checks and information requested by the official service.
- Before you apply
- Self Assessment details update after you report the change. Business records need separate attention. A Child Benefit claimant’s own name change goes through this same service; other Child Benefit changes are reported separately.
- Costs
- The official reporting service is free.
- GOV.UK: tell HMRC your name has changed
- GOV.UK: report changes to your Child Benefit (added and checked 24 September 2026)
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Identity and driving
DVLA driving licence (Great Britain)
- How to update
- Post D1 for cars/motorcycles or D2 for lorries/buses with your current licence.
- Evidence to check
- For a deed poll or statutory declaration, include original name-change evidence and a qualifying document showing your new name in use. Check DVLA’s date rules.
- Before you apply
- Gather name-in-use evidence first, for example from an employer or bank. A V5C log book is a separate update. Northern Ireland licences use DVA instead.
- Costs
- A name-only change is free; replacement or photo changes can cost extra.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Identity and driving
HM Passport Office
- How to update
- Apply to replace your passport through the official passport service.
- Evidence to check
- Check the evidence list for your route. Deed-poll applications need evidence linking the names and showing use of the new name.
- Before you apply
- Match travel bookings to the passport you will use. Check the original-document requirements before posting anything needed for another application.
- Costs
- A replacement passport has a separate fee; check GOV.UK before applying.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Identity and driving
Vehicle log book (V5C)
- How to update
- Send the whole V5C using its name-change section, with a letter explaining the change.
- Evidence to check
- Include name-change proof such as a deed poll where required. GOV.UK exempts marriage, divorce and spelling corrections from that proof requirement.
- Before you apply
- This does not update your driving licence. Use the different combined procedure if your address also changes. A missing V5C requires a V62 application.
- Costs
- Usually free with the V5C; a lost-log-book replacement costs £25.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Health
GP and NHS records (England)
- How to update
- Contact your GP surgery; ask which form or secure channel it uses.
- Evidence to check
- Ask the practice what it needs. NHS England’s template lists evidence such as a marriage/civil partnership certificate or deed poll.
- Before you apply
- The NHS App directs name changes to your GP. Updating an app email or phone number does not change your name. Check hospital, pharmacy and dental records separately where needed.
- Costs
- Ask the practice about your request; do not buy a document before checking its evidence requirements.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
Home and civic
Electoral register
- How to update
- Register to vote again with your new name using GOV.UK’s online service, or print and send a paper form to your electoral registration office.
- Evidence to check
- GOV.UK says you’ll need to register again if you’ve changed your name. You’ll be asked for your National Insurance number, but you can still register without one.
- Before you apply
- There is a different process to register anonymously, for example if you are concerned about your safety or the safety of someone in your household. Your name appears on the open register unless you opt out when registering.
- Costs
- No document purchase is needed; you register again with your new details.
Sources checked . The receiving organisation decides what it needs.
What order should I update my name in?
Start with the evidence each organisation needs, rather than following a fixed passport-first or DVLA-first sequence. Some applications require a record showing your new name already in use; benefits need prompt reporting. Work through the practical steps below, adapting them to the records you actually hold.
- Check each organisation’s evidence requirements and prepare the document linking your names. Keep a signed original available.
- Report benefit changes promptly and coordinate bank details with each provider; do not wait for a passport or driving licence.
- Ask an employer, bank or another accepted record-holder for evidence showing your new name in use before an application that requires it.
- Update your driving licence, passport, V5C and remaining accounts through their separate official processes. There is no universal DVLA-first order.
The order in this organiser is a planning aid, not a deadline set by law. Check official instructions and any time limit applying to your own account or claim. Our UK name-change guide explains the overall process.
Which updates should I prioritise?
Check reporting duties and upcoming applications first. Report benefit changes straight away, check passport names before booking travel, and plan around any original documents you need to post. There is no single timetable covering every organisation. A saved checklist is a planning tool, not proof that you have notified anyone.
| If this applies to you | What to do |
|---|---|
| Benefits | Report the change to each relevant benefit service using its official route. Do not wait for replacement ID. |
| Travel plans | Make sure the name used to book travel matches the passport you will use. Check passport timing and evidence before making bookings. |
| Driving and a vehicle | Your driving licence and vehicle log book are separate records. Northern Ireland has a different driving-licence process. |
| Applications asking for originals | Read the document-return instructions and avoid promising the same original to two organisations at once. Keep a record of what you send. |
For example, if a passport application needs evidence that you use your new name, first check which qualifying record you can obtain. Your employer or bank may provide a suitable record after its own checks. This depends on your circumstances; it is not a rule to update every bank before every passport.
Sources: GOV.UK benefit reporting, passport and travel-name guidance, and DVLA name-change guidance, checked 5 October 2026.
Does every name change need a deed poll?
No. A marriage or civil-partnership certificate can be sufficient for some surname changes. A return to a previous name can have a different evidence route, and Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own registration options. Use the document chooser before paying for paperwork.
If an unenrolled deed poll fits your situation, you can use our free deed poll template. Optional personalised document preparation costs £14.99; you still print, sign and use the document yourself. Buying it does not notify anyone or guarantee every organisation’s acceptance.
How does saving my checklist work?
Pressing Save on this device stores only the choices and ticked items shown in the organiser. There is no name, email, account number or document upload field. Saving is optional, manual and limited to the browser profile you are using. The checklist is not synced to another device.
Use Restore saved checklist to continue and Reset and delete saved copy to remove it. Your browser can also remove stored site data, and private browsing may not retain it. If you use a shared device, print a copy or leave the page without saving. Saved progress does not mean an organisation has received or completed your request.
What else belongs on my name-change checklist?
Include any organisation holding a record you use: other banks, credit cards, pension providers, insurers, utilities, council services, schools, professional memberships and subscriptions. Check less obvious borrowing too, such as car finance, catalogue accounts and buy now pay later. Different products with the same company can require separate updates. Our complete notification checklist helps you spot the records outside this organiser.
MoneyHelper’s independent name-change checklist is another useful cross-check for accounts outside this organiser (checked 5 October 2026).
Keep a private note of the date you contacted each provider, what it requested and whether it confirmed the update. Recheck the first statement, payslip or letter issued afterwards. This organiser deliberately avoids storing those personal records; keep them somewhere you control.
Good to know