InstantDeedPoll

Changing Your Name After Marriage: Do You Need a Deed Poll?

Quick answer

Usually no — if you are simply taking your spouse’s surname, your marriage certificate is enough for HMPO, the DVLA, banks and HMRC. You only need a deed poll when the new name is not on the certificate: double-barrelling, blending, or changing first or middle names.

Who should skip this

Skip the deed poll if you are only taking your spouse’s surname exactly as the marriage certificate shows. HMPO, the DVLA, banks and HMRC accept that certificate for a straight swap.

Checked by Sarah Ellison, paralegal — last reviewed 22 August 2026

Get your deed poll PDF for £14.99

One-time payment. Yours forever. No subscription, ever.

When is the marriage certificate enough?

When you take your spouse’s surname as a straight swap, the marriage certificate is the evidence. Send the original with each application. HM Passport Office, the DVLA, banks and HMRC all accept it, with no deadline — you can update documents days or decades after the wedding.

Either spouse can take the other’s surname this way, regardless of sex. The certificate does not expire as evidence. Keep several certified copies if you will be sending originals away; some banks want to see the paper, not a scan.

Civil partnership works the same way: the civil partnership certificate is enough for a straight surname swap. See civil partnership name change.

What you wantEvidence that usually worksBuy a deed poll?
Take your spouse’s surname exactly as printedMarriage or civil partnership certificateNo — skip us
Husband or wife taking the other’s surnameSame certificate route — either spouse, any sexNo — skip us
Double-barrel both surnamesCertificate does not state the combined nameUsually yes — some banks insist
Blend a new surname, or change first/middle namesCertificate cannot evidence that nameYes — only route
Move a maiden name into a middle nameNot written as the new full name on the certificateYes

When do I need a deed poll after marriage?

Whenever the new name is not written on the certificate: double-barrelling both surnames, creating a blended surname, changing first or middle names, or moving a maiden name to a middle name. Some banks insist on a deed poll even for a double-barrel, because the certificate does not state the combined name.

A £14.99 unenrolled deed poll removes that doubt everywhere. Read double-barrelling your surname if that is the only change. If you can copy the government wording yourself, the free template is legally the same document — we exist for formatting, instructions and a wording guarantee, not because DIY is invalid.

Enrolment at the High Court (£53.05, from age 18, checked 13 August 2026) is not required for a married name. Skip it unless a named organisation has asked for the Gazette record. Comparison: enrolled vs unenrolled.

Can I travel on my honeymoon in my married name?

Yes. HM Passport Office will issue a passport in your new name up to three months before the ceremony, using your marriage certificate and a form countersigned by your officiant. Book flights and hotels in the name that will be on the passport you actually travel with.

A name-change passport is a standard adult renewal: £102 online or £115.50 on paper for a 34-page adult passport (GOV.UK passport fees, checked 13 August 2026). There is no extra surcharge for the name change. If you are travelling in your old name, do not update the passport until you return.

If the honeymoon name is a double-barrel or blend that is not on the certificate, you need the deed poll as well as the marriage paperwork. Start from the which-document checker if you are unsure.

Who do I tell first after the wedding?

Use the same order as any name change: driving licence or passport first, so you hold name-in-use evidence, then bank, HMRC, employer, NHS and the rest. The driving-licence update is free via a D1 form; the passport is a paid renewal, not a separate name-change product.

DVLA name changes are free (GOV.UK, checked 13 August 2026) and failing to tell them of a name or address change can mean a fine of up to £1,000. Full sequence: who to notify checklist, driving licence, passport. The £9.95 letter pack writes the bank and utility letters if you want them drafted.

A deed poll does not update a will. Executors and banks work faster when the will, the deed poll and your photo ID all show the same name — print a fresh will in the new name and re-sign it with two witnesses in one room (Wills Act 1837, section 9). SwiftWill drafts an England and Wales will online for £35 with free updates for life. SwiftWill is a related online-will service from the same company (Elite Digital AI Solutions Ltd). Skip it if you live in Scotland or Northern Ireland, or need tax planning, trusts or foreign property.

Good to know

Frequently asked questions